ANBG logoAdel BG logoBrisb BG logoDarwin BG logoKings P logoRTBG logoRBG Melb logo

Council of Heads of Australian Botanic Gardens (CHABG)

horizontal green line
Home > CHABG

Myrtle Rust

A symposium was held at the Australian National Botanic Gardens on 10 March 2011 bringing together pathogen experts, those with on-ground experience, and representatives from the botanic gardens community.

Web resources for the botanic gardens community will be placed here.

Botanic gardens are among the most frequently visited cultural institutions in Australia. They inspire the appreciation and conservation of plants. They also provide valuable space for recreation and relaxation, and are sites of considerable scientific and cultural significance.

Statement of Purpose

The Council of Heads of Australian Botanic Gardens Incorporated is a not-for-profit Association established for the purpose of supporting:

through working with Australian botanic gardens and other institutions to achieve the following objects:


The Council of Heads of Australian Botanic Gardens Incorporated - Rules (PDF document)

Council of Heads of Australian Botanic Gardens Incorporated (CHABG)

A committee of Australia’s executive leaders in botanic gardens manages the affairs of the Council of Heads of Australian Botanic Gardens Inc.

Mr Stephen Forbes (Chair CHABG Inc.)

Executive Director, Botanic Gardens of Adelaide, Adelaide

Dr Judy West (Ordinary Committee Member)

Executive Director, Australian National Botanic Gardens, Canberra

Dr Philip Moors (Treasurer, CHABG Inc.)

Chief Executive Officer, Royal Botanic Gardens Melbourne

Mr Ross McKinnon (Ordinary Committee Member)

Curator, Brisbane Botanic Gardens, Brisbane

Ms Lesley Kirby (Ordinary Committee Member)

Director, Royal Tasmanian Botanical Gardens, Hobart

Mr Mark Webb (Secretary, CHABG Inc.)

Chief Executive Officer, Botanic Gardens and Parks Authority ( Kings Park), Perth

Professor David Mabberley (Ordinary Committee Member)

Executive Director, Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust, Sydney

Mr Gary Fry (Ordinary Committee Member)

Director, Alice Springs Desert Park, Alice Springs

Contact us:

The CHABG office is located at the Australian National Botanic Gardens in Canberra.


Public Officer
GPO Box 1777 Canberra
ACT, 2601

Phone: +61(0) 2 6250 9500
Fax: +61 (0) 2 6250 9599

CHABG Iniatives:

Directory of Australian Botanic Gardens and Arboreta

NSW Regional Botanic Gardens Network

Census of Plants in Australian Botanic Gardens 1992

Survey of Botanic Gardens Usage

The National Strategy and Action Plan for the Role of Australia's Botanic Gardens in Adapting to Climate Change - 2008

Myrtle Rust - resources for Australia's botanic gardens


CHABG Inc. works closely with Botanic Gardens Australia and New Zealand Incorporated (BGANZ)

BGANZ is the chief body representing the interests of botanic gardens in Australia and New Zealand. It promotes the interests and activities of Australian and New Zealand botanic gardens and botanic gardens generally and enhances the state of botanic gardens for the benefit of the community.

Individual, Institutional or Associate membership of BGANZ provide opportunities for information exchange, advocacy, development and grant opportunities and the benefits derived from national conferences and exhibitions. Visit the BGANZ Web Site

Major institutions participating in CHABG

The term 'botanic gardens' is used to include those organisations known by the name 'botanic' or 'botanical' gardens.
CHABG is not an accreditation authority, and does not confer botanic gardens status upon institutions.



Updated  November 22, 2011 , Web Manager (